Hall of Fame & Country Star Museum

Spread the love

Bill Monroe’s Bluegrass Hall of Fame & Country Star Museum

On this page you will see the hours of operation, Hall of Fame Members, How the Hall of Fame Works and more information on the Museum.  If you have any questions, please let us know.

General Admission $4.00 / Seniors $3.00 / Children 12 & under FREE
Hours of Operation:
May – October (Daily) 9:00 am – 5:00 pm
November – April (Sunday 12-4, Tues-Wed closed, Thu-Sat 9-5)

Butch Robins (2016
Raymond Fairchild (2015)
Dwight Dillman (2014)
George Shuffler (2013)
Paul Williams (2012)
Curly Seckler (2011)
Doc Watson (2010)
Carlton Haney (2008)
Eddie Adcock (2005)
Kenny Baker
A.P. Carter
Maybelle Carter
Sara Carter
J. D. Crowe
John Duffey
Lester Flatt
Jimmy Gaudreau
Melvin Goins
Ray Goins
Josh Graves
Doyle Lawson
Jimmy Martin
Del McCoury
Jesse McReynolds
Jim McReynolds
Bill Monroe
Bobby Osborne
Sonny Osborne
Don Reno
Earl Scruggs
Red Smiley
Dick Smith
Larry Sparks
Carter Stanley
Ralph Stanley
Carl Story
Enoch Sullivan
J. B. Sullivan
Margie Sullivan
Charlie Waller
Mac Wiseman
Bill Yates

See bottom of page for more information on the Hall of Fame and how it works.


During the 1980’s Bill Monroe had operated a bluegrass museum in Tennessee, first on Music Valley Drive near Opryland and later in Twitty City. In 1984, the Bill Monroe Bluegrass Hall of Fame was created for which Monroe himself would hand pick the inductees for their substantial and enduring contributions to bluegrass music. The first Hall of Fame inductees were: Carl Story, Earl Scruggs, Lester Flatt, The Sullivan Family, Mac Wiseman, Don Reno & Red Smiley, The Seldom Scene, The Osborne Brothers and Monroe himself. It wasn’t until after Bill and his son James decided to tear the old Brown County Jamboree Barn down that the decision was made to move the Museum and Hall of Fame to Bean Blossom.

They celebrated the grand opening of the new Bill Monroe Bluegrass Hall of Fame & Country Star Museum during the fall festival September 4-6, 1986. The Stanley Brothers were honored that year and festival performers included: Bill Monroe & his Blue Grass Boys, Johnny Paycheck, Kitty Wells, The Whites, The Reno Brothers, John Hartford, The Sullivan Family, as well as other notable Grand Ole Opry stars and Bluegrass greats.

The museum has grown over the years and there is always something new on exhibit. A walkway of stars paves the entry to the museum with Hollywood-style bronze stars for bluegrass greats, family and friends. Once inside take a self guided tour while listening to a Tribute to Bill Monroe and learn about the story of how Bill Monroe found his musical way to Bean Blossom and the old Brown County Jamboree Barn in the early 50’s. Gaze at the pictures on the walls and reminisce about the story of bluegrass beginnings and the legendary Grand Ole Opry.

On display you will find Bill Monroe’s personal collection of memorabilia of his life in the business, as well as instruments, clothing, pictures and more donated by legendary bluegrass and country stars like: Jimmy Martin, Jim & Jesse, Porter Wagoner, Flatt & Scruggs, Stringbean, Loretta Lynn, Dolly Parton, Johnny Cash and George Jones. Click here to learn more about the Hall of Fame Museum.

As you exit the Museum and Hall of Fame be sure to visit Uncle Pen’s Cabin, located in the courtyard. This is a replica of the cabin once owned by Pendleton Vandiver, Bill Monroe’s uncle. After Bill Monroe’s parents died, he went to live with his Uncle Pen as a teenager. Monroe created the fame of Uncle Pen in a song and the cabin is his tribute to Pen for his musical influence on his life.

Photos below: Courtesy of the Brown County Convention & Visitor Bureau

Bean Blossom Bluegrass Hall Of Fame Committee

Who makes up the HOF Committee?

In an effort to make the best selection possible, the Bean Blossom HOF committee reflects a minimum of 100+ people who have an intimate knowledge of the bluegrass genre and would likely nominate someone who has made a significant contribution to Bluegrass music.

Examples of committee members are:

Bluegrass DJ’s
Printed bluegrass media officials
Bluegrass festival and venue promoters
Major bluegrass record company officials
Current Bean Blossom Hall Of Fame members
International, national and local performing bluegrass artists
Knowledgeable representatives of the general bluegrass festival attendees

How does the process work?

The HOF nomination process is structured in a three tier round of nominations.

ROUND I – Each committee member may nominate any person or group they deem appropriate.

ROUND II – All the nominations are re-submitted to the committee members for a second vote. This time, each committee member must select one name from the list provided from Round I.

ROUND III – The three HOF nominees with the most votes from Round II are presented for a final vote.


* The identity of the 50+ committee members are kept confidential, unknown to each other.
* The committee chairman will not vote, except in the event of a tie.
* To keep it fresh, new committee people are selected each year.
* The nominee must have made a significant contribution to the advancement of Bluegrass.
* The nominee cannot already be in the Bean Blossom Hall Of Fame

How can I serve on this committee?

Please the committee chairman, Jerry Paul,
At beanblossomhof@hotmail.com for consideration.